Zero turn mower
Trying to decide between a Ferris IS600 and a bad boy maverick zero turn mower. Both have a type of suspension. Ferris has shocks and springs. Maverick has rubber bushings. I have a very rough yard do to crawfish. Trying to also fix that this year. Anyway yard is also wet do to the amount of rain we get. Southeast Texas. Need traction but don’t want to sink. Ferris has 22x11 tires and weighs about 950 lbs. Mavericks tires are 23 x11 and it weighs about 850. Was leaning toward the Ferris because I think it has a better suspension and cost a little less. But now I am concerned with tire ruts due to the weight. Any thoughts or experiences
Thanks
Gary
I've been using a 60" Dixon (~900 #) for the last 10 years or so, and it seems to me it would have to be so wet for ruts you wouldn't be able to mow...at least that's been my experience in the NW Oh. clay. The bigger downside(s) are 1) the ride and 2) lack of traction when it's either very dry or just slightly wet. I swore my next one will have suspension and a suspension seat (a very valuable option if it's available) and bar tread tires. The higher weight probably won't contribute to any rutting problem very much...if it makes ruts at 850# (+you) it will also make them at 950# (+you), so I wouldn't give that much consideration. In quickly looking at the 2 specs, it looks like they share the hydraulic pump, and the Bad boy has some optional engines that may well be worth considering. I think the stock Kohler Confident engine is the one Kohler makes in China...and is probably the same one I have on my Dixon (called Courage). These engines get poo-pooed on-line, but to be honest mine hasn't had any problems at all. I have more faith in the Ferris name, but I think either one will serve you well. Some dealers will let you do a test cut, maybe see if you can try out both. Personally I'd go with the Ferris because that suspension is nice. But if you want to move up a notch look at the Altoz. I may make it my ne