I am totally embarrassed
I remember I made a mistake once.
Big Grin
Hmmm, I thought I was wrong once, but I was mistaken... <grin>
(10-12-2019, 08:00 PM)tnff Wrote: We actually did have road signs that give distance and speed in both back in the 70s.  We were headed down the path to metric and somewhere in the 80s got lost.  I work in a lab where most of the scientists work in SI.  But the dang engineers refuse to change and still work in horrible units like BTU per pound mass.

About that time, I lived in Chicago and The Tribune would publish recipes, and they went something like
Sugar   1 Tablespoon     14.7868 cc

I remember thinking just how many times I read something like 1.4327 Tablespoons or   1.696 eggs.  Never

To the letter, but not the spirit.

This week, a doctor told me I had a 2 cm tumor and kept trying to convert that into inches for me.   Nevermind, I understand what 2 cm is.

What used to really irk me is that I'd be working on a table or something and the bolt at the top of the leg was 7/16 hex head and the one on the shelf was 8mm.   I even had a bolt once that was spec'd   8mm x 3"    Either metric or SAE is fine, but not both.
(10-10-2019, 12:04 PM)stoppy Wrote: Just finished cutting all my grooves in 3/4" plywood for my table sled and I'm thinking why would a company have a plan for a sled that is so floppy. I think,the metal bars must stiffen it up.  Well, let's check the instructions just to be sure.  11/32's deep grooves. Yep that's what I got.  !/32 past 5/8 is 11/32, wait a minute that doesn't sound right. No' no, i.d.i.o.t. 1/32 past 5/16 is 11/32.  It's a good d**n thing I can laugh at myself, and that I have enough plywood to redo it.

My guess is that we've all "been there and done that" - I know I certainly have! Good luck moving forward!

Doug
I use metric for calculating balustrade or stair steps. Anything that I have to divide is much easier with metricity.
VH07V