Entry hall table for a niece
This is a cross post from the Woodworking forum, where the first part of this thread is.

We are building a version of this hall table ...

[Image: Jes_-Entry-Table.jpg]

We left off last time with basic preparation of stock from rough sawn boards ..

[Image: Resaw18.jpg]

A word of introduction before continuing: while I am best known for hand tool work, I am a blended woodworker and have a pretty full compliment of power tools, which I use. It is horses for courses - power does the grunt work and hands do the details and joinery. So there are machines here as well as hand tools, and I like to believe they coexist well in my builds, as they should.

I began this session by turning the legs ...

[Image: 2legs.jpg]

[Image: 1legs.jpg]

The Jarrah for the legs turned out a few shades lighter than expected, and I made an extra piece to experiment with different dye mixes. A final decision shall be made once the case is completed.

The panels needed to sized, which involved measuring from the centre line of the book-matched panels. The quickest way to square this up was to mark a line (in blue tape), and plane to it ... much faster than using power saws, etc.

[Image: 3Panel.jpg]

[Image: 4Panel.jpg]

Once done, you can square up on a jointer ..

[Image: 5Panel.jpg]

... rip to width ...

[Image: 6Panel.jpg]

... and cross cut ...

[Image: 7Panel.jpg]

Here are the panels for the case (sides yet to be dimensioned for height) ...

[Image: 8Panel.jpg]

Packed away for the night ...

[Image: 9Panel.jpg]

When marking the dovetails, it pays to work precisely. Mark carefully ...

[Image: 10dovetail.jpg]
Articles on furniture building, shop made tools and tool reviews at www.inthewoodshop.com
[Image: 11dovetail.jpg]

My favourite dovetail saw is usually the one I sharpened most recently. This is an original Independence Tools saw by Pete Taran (circa 1995) ..

[Image: 11adovetail.jpg]

Completed side panels ...

[Image: 14dovetail.jpg]