Saber saw replacement suggestions needed
My Craftsman saber saw (which I got nearly 40 years ago, when Sears was a reliable supplier) has died. My son says the bearings and the motor are shot, so it's time for a new one.

I am a hobbyist, not a "Pro", so I don't need a top of the line, gold plated, supercharged tool with the latest software. I just want a tool that I can rely on for the next 10-15 years.

I mainly cut hardwoods, some plywood and very occasionally some metal. I have a "bunch of "U" blades, so I'd like to use them if possible. However, going to the "T" blades isn't a deal breaker.

Any favorites out there?
Jim

Demonstrating every day that enthusiasm cannot overcome a lack of talent!
I have a Bosch JS 470 jigsaw.  I replaced a horribly bad Craftsman with it.  Corded.  Not cheap, but it doesn't buck me and fight me the way the old C-Man did.  It uses T-style blades.  

Last time the question was asked about jigsaws here, the Bosch seemed to get a lot of traction, and for good reason.

For what it's worth, Family Handyman magazine just published a test of cordless jigsaws.  While they gave their best of breed award to the DeWalt 20V saw, they did rate the Bauer (Harbor Freight Brand) as a best value.
I have a Makita 4350FCT...one of the bigger corded models.  Wasn't cheap....I think around $150 several years ago. It cuts through just about anything with the right blade. No matter which brand you decide on look for one with a light and a built in dust blower, it's much easier to keep the cut lines visible.

You didn't mention corded or battery. Might also be some good cordless options out there now with the better, higher capacity batteries. Especially if you've already have some of the newer 18/20v tools.
I have not looked into saber saws in recent years, but my Bosch makes me happy every time I use it.
"I tried being reasonable..........I didn't like it." Clint Eastwood
Bosch fan here. Mine is 15y or so, been used commercially.