Paver driveway--Seal it? Use Polymeric sand?
Just moved to South Florida where many homes have paver driveways. We bought in a new development and have one, but I have no experience with them.. The sand that is swept between the pavers is slowly  coming out when it rains. I see a few neighbors sealing the pavers. A few others add polymeric sand. Both sealing and polymeric sand get mixed reviews when I read about then online.

Any recommendations?

Thanks!
 Fred
(05-05-2020, 05:57 AM)frule Wrote: Just moved to South Florida where many homes have paver driveways. We bought in a new development and have one, but I have no experience with them.. The sand that is swept between the pavers is slowly  coming out when it rains. I see a few neighbors sealing the pavers. A few others add polymeric sand. Both sealing and polymeric sand get mixed reviews when I read about then online.

Any recommendations?

Thanks!
 Fred

Maybe one of the pro's can add some additional info, but the sealing should prevent the discoloration and staining of the pavers over time.  I lived in SW and NE Florida for a number of years and the sun can be brutal.  I always thought with the polymeric sand, after it is swept between the pavers and dampened with a hose, you use a plate compactor to compress and lock the sand together.  It's the geometry of the polymeric sand that makes it work this way as opposed to regular sand.  I think it lock together like regular mortar, but allows water to drain through it.
(05-05-2020, 05:57 AM)frule Wrote: Just moved to South Florida where many homes have paver driveways. We bought in a new development and have one, but I have no experience with them.. The sand that is swept between the pavers is slowly  coming out when it rains. I see a few neighbors sealing the pavers. A few others add polymeric sand. Both sealing and polymeric sand get mixed reviews when I read about then online.

Any recommendations?

Thanks!
 Fred