Q: Marking out for knife hinge
The cabinet I am building (in my build-along post) will have an inset door, about 5" wide, >8" tall. I'm using Brusso L-shaped knife hinges. I have never used knife hinges before.

The cabinet is dry fitted and clamped. I want to mark the hinge outlines with the case assembled, and then mortise them after disassembly. I have a kind of silly question. How do I mark the top?

I have fitted box hinges by hand before, with very good results. So I am comfortable aligning, marking, and chiseling or hand routing. With the right spacers, I think it will be easy to do this on the bottom. But holding the top hinge, while marking it from the bottom, seems unwieldy and a little risky (hinge might move during marking). I could flip the cabinet upside down, but it's awkward with all the clamps on it. I'd prefer not to. But will if I have to.

Any suggestions?
Best,
Aram, always learning

"Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Web: My woodworking photo site
Here's what Brusso has to say about it -

https://www.brusso.com/pivot-hinge-documentation/
(06-14-2020, 10:28 PM)Phil S. Wrote: Here's what Brusso has to say about it -

https://www.brusso.com/pivot-hinge-documentation/

Thank you. I had seen that. My question is more about the practical limitations of marking upside down.
Best,
Aram, always learning

"Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Not being a smarty here.  If you can't disassemble the top to flip it over I would flip the whole piece.  A neighbor and a beer can help with this.  Another thing that might help is the method I use even when I mark prior to assembly; double stick tape.  Be diligent with your layout.  There's not a lot of fudge-factor with these.

I use pencil to make returning the hinge/tape to position more reliable.