Repairing base molding
Daughter and her husband are living in Stuttgart, Germany.  She contacted me yesterday about an "Oops" in their apartment; bottom line is that there is now a large divot in the base molding, and they want to repair it themselves. 

Pic 1:

Pic 2:

I'm not certain of the material; appears to be an MDF-like base molding.  If it was here, I'd take care of it using a premixed patching material.  

Just so happens that my daughter is traveling back here on New Year's.  I told her I'd set her up with repair materials and she can take them back for the fix.  So I'm looking for a patching material that is powder-based, water-mixed, and will stick to just about anything.  She needs to be able to pack a container into her luggage when she returns to Germany.

I'm looking at Durham's Water Putty.  Link

I've never used it before.  The instructions say it will stick to just about anything, dries fast, and can be shaped with a putty knife while soft, and sanded after fully cured.

Anybody have any experience with Durham's or is there another product we should use?
My vote is Durhams, good stuff.
I no longer build museums but don't want to change my name. My new job is a lot less stressful. Life is much better.

Garry
Good luck getting that through TSA.
VH07V  
(12-19-2020, 08:47 PM)EightFingers Wrote: Good luck getting that through TSA.

Why?  Because of what it looks like?  According to the SDS, the only hazard listed is possible silicate dust inhalation; it's not flammable; no flashpoint; no VOCs; no special notes to medical personnel.
They could fix that with some hot mud, some 180g sand paper and a sanding block. The dry 20 minute join compound, mix it a little dry..
Neil Summers Home Inspections

" What would Fred do?"

... CLETUS

(12-20-2020, 05:48 AM)Snipe Hunter Wrote: They could fix that with some hot mud, some 180g sand paper and a sanding block. The dry 20 minute join compound, mix it a little dry..