Hardwood floor repair question
I've been asked to help a buddy repair his hardwood floor. Long story short, a section of wall was removed that separated two rooms. Both rooms had wood, one floor is Fir the other is Maple (It's a very old house). We need to replace about a 6' x6" board where the dividing wall once stood. This board will set perpendicular to the adjoining floors, so there is no way to make this a discreet patch.
My questions are; 1) Will I have a problem with wood movement on about a 6" wide replacement board? 2) Should I just screw the new wood to the subfloor and then plug the screw holes? 3) Because I am separating a Maple and a Fir floor, is there any logic to what species the replacement board should be? (The old floors are natural, but have 75 years of patina, so I'm thinking we might just stain the patch board dark and let it contrast.)
I'm a long time woodworker, and have even installed hardwood once, but I have no experience to draw on for this kind of a repair.
I'd appreciate any sage advice. Thanks!
Ed, I've never done what you need to either, but I think your plan will work fine.  I'd go with fir if you can get it, quarter or rift sawn being best.  Screw it down close to the center line and plug the holes, or nail it down and fill the much smaller holes.  

John
(12-30-2020, 03:24 PM)jteneyck Wrote: Ed, I've never done what you need to either, but I think your plan will work fine.  I'd go with fir if you can get it, quarter or rift sawn being best.  Screw it down close to the center line and plug the holes, or nail it down and fill the much smaller holes.  

John