Ash or Elm?
So here is a burl I harvested a few years ago from a tree that was getting ready to be logged.  Finished just over 13" in diameter

Turned it a few weeks ago.  

Wish I had a better picture of the tree, but here is all I got.  Can you tell if this is ash or elm?  It was located in south central Indiana.

"This is our chance, this our lives, this is our planet we're standing on. Use your choice, use your voice, you can save our tomorrows now." - eV
Beautiful piece,but no idea on the type of wood
Yep, beautiful bowl.  Don't recognize the bark.  Bowl is darker than what I would expect for ash; but I have no experience with ash burl or elm burl.
"I tried being reasonable..........I didn't like it." Clint Eastwood
(01-18-2021, 12:31 PM)KLaz Wrote: So here is a burl I harvested a few years ago from a tree that was getting ready to be logged.  Finished just over 13" in diameter

Turned it a few weeks ago.  

Wish I had a better picture of the tree, but here is all I got.  Can you tell if this is ash or elm?  It was located in south central Indiana.
Don't see many elms with so little dark heartwood.  
White ash.
Better to follow the leader than the pack. Less to step in.
Bowl looks too dark to be ash, tree looks too light to be elm
VH07V  
I only applied a sanding sealer and then buffed with wax so didn't really change the color any with finishing.  It was pretty brown when I was turning it.  Very hard and dense wood.

Whatever it is, I'm pretty happy with it.  The story of getting it out of the woods makes it all worthwhile....

I was riding my mountain bike on this property during the summer (that's the trail to the left of the tree) and saw the burl and to my surprise that tree was marked to be logged later that year.  I asked the property owner if I could take the burl.  Tree was coming down so he was more than accommodating.