WTB - grab-bag of plane handles/totes
I'm looking to restore a few old planes but am missing a variety of handles. I was wondering if anyone has a handful of front and rear handles for #4 and #5 size planes. Some are Stanely, but I've got some other brands like Shelton or Victor. I assume handles off a Stanely should fit. Now I know someone will say just to make them but that's out of the question for these particular planes. I'm looking to get them all tuned up and sell at a local establishment. Shaping wood in the way handles demand is something I'm not experienced with and it would simply take more time than I have. Any offers or insight would be appreciated.
How do you know you're learning anything if you don't screw up once in awhile?

My blog: http://birdsandboards.blogspot.com/
Stanley totes, and sometimes knobs, will not fit Shelton, or many other brands of planes, so keep that in mind.
Credo Elvem ipsum etiam vivere
Non impediti ratione cogitationis
(02-04-2021, 10:54 AM)Admiral Wrote: Stanley totes, and sometimes knobs, will not fit Shelton, or many other brands of planes, so keep that in mind.

So with that being said, do you have any suggestions? Is it the case that I would have to search for very specific parts based on the particular plane? How would you even go about fabricating one without a solid one to work from?

Totes and knobs can fetch some decent coin all by themselves.  Just a thought, but you might consider buying some broken ones much cheaper and repairing them yourself.  A well repaired tote can be hard to see.

(02-04-2021, 08:56 PM)mr_skittle Wrote: So with that being said, do you have any suggestions? Is it the case that I would have to search for very specific parts based on the particular plane? How would you even go about fabricating one without a solid one to work from?