Dewalt DW734 Planer vs Ridgid Planer - Best Choice?
Hello All,

I am now in the market for a new planer. I like the Dewalt DW734 and the Ridgid Planer. Both seem like very capable units. Usually the Dewalt comes in ahead of the Ridgid in the reviews but I wanted to hear from owners of each planer. I know the DW735 is a beast and great planer but I cannot really justify the cost.

Would you buy the planer again?
What are the best features of the planer?
What would you like to change about the planer?

I have quite a few Ridgid tools and I like their Lifetime warranty. I also owned the Dewalt jobsite table saw and plunge router which were also nice. I may be splitting hairs but I wanted to see what others had to say.

Like most of us, I am a hobbyist. My skill level is intermediate. 

Thanks, Bill
(03-06-2021, 03:09 PM)bpatters69 Wrote: Hello All,

I am now in the market for a new planer. I like the Dewalt DW734 and the Ridgid Planer. Both seem like very capable units. Usually the Dewalt comes in ahead of the Ridgid in the reviews but I wanted to hear from owners of each planer. I know the DW735 is a beast and great planer but I cannot really justify the cost.

Would you buy the planer again?
What are the best features of the planer?
What would you like to change about the planer?

I have quite a few Ridgid tools and I like their Lifetime warranty. I also owned the Dewalt jobsite table saw and plunge router which were also nice. I may be splitting hairs but I wanted to see what others had to say.

Like most of us, I am a hobbyist. My skill level is intermediate. 

Thanks, Bill

I think it's a toss up, so if I was in the market I would go for the best price.

---
See ya later,
Bill
I had the Ridgid and now have the DW734. Both have the same basic features - 4 post design, cutter head lock, 3 dual-edge indexable knives, outfeed table, etc. I just like the DW a little better since I have 4 DW routers and a couple of sanders. I guess I'm partial to DW.