Strongest joint solution for stool with 2 legs
Hi!

Im very new to working with wood and have a question regarding this stool with two legs that is my first project. Im working with 28mm thick pine.

Here is a quick drawing

[Image: stool.jpg]
Im thinking that this design will demand a very strong joint solution

Thankful for any help!

Kind regards, Andy
OK if it were a welded metal stool, but the design as is won't be good enough for an adult or even a child.  A dowel or M&T/floating tenon joint is possible for a light duty purpose (a plant stand, say).

Simon
I'd consider a finger joint with 1/4" spacing for lots of surface area to transfer the shear load.
Cellulose runs through my veins!
You might have a look at the variety of renditions of Gerrit Rietveld's Zig Zag Chair. They have been joined with either dovetails, box joints, or brass machine screws with nuts. There is typically a reinforcing piece on the inside of the corners. These chairs have been around for a long time and there are still original ones available. A friend of mine built a nice example from cherry a few years ago. It doesn't look like it is strong enough to support an adult but it does. I found it quite nice to sit in. I expect you could make something like you're envisioning work with decent joinery.
DaveR1 ,

Look again at the sketch. The one your friend built must have a different structure because the op's has no apron/top rail under the seat. No joinery could support the seat based on those two single legs.

Not to mention that it's pine.

Simon
Andy, I agree with some of the above comments, that just isn't going to work as a stool. The design needs some changes or it needs to be a metal frame.
I started with absolutely nothing. Now, thanks to years of hard work, careful planning, and perseverance, I find I still have most of it left.
(03-28-2021, 11:32 PM)Handplanesandmore Wrote: DaveR1 ,