slab foundation question
I see houses and barndominiums on YT with a continuous slab that extends from living space out to porch and garage space.
Obviously I'm not a concrete expert here, but it seems to me that a better option would be to have separate slabs for each due to the weather and temperature differences between the spaces.
Also, I would think that cracks can travel across spaces.
Am I over thinking this and this is not a concern?

Ray
Ray
(08-15-2021, 07:54 AM)DogwoodTales Wrote: I see houses and barndominiums on YT with a continuous slab that extends from living space out to porch and garage space.
Obviously I'm not a concrete expert here, but it seems to me that a better option would be to have separate slabs for each due to the weather and temperature differences between the spaces.
Also, I would think that cracks can travel across spaces.
Am I over thinking this and this is not a concern?

Ray

Continuous slabs are for warmer climates.  They are usually post tensioned with cables.  There is usually no separated foundations.

Isolated slabs are needed in the cold.  These usually have a frost foundation around them.
WoodNET... the new safespace
Everything I've seen, even in warm climates, has a separate slab for the garage/carport and any patios.
Rocket Science is more fun when you actually have rockets. 

"The Constitution is not an instrument for the government to restrain the people, it is an instrument for the people to restrain the government." -- Patrick Henry
(08-15-2021, 06:05 PM)Mr_Mike Wrote: Everything I've seen, even in warm climates, has a separate slab for the garage/carport and any patios.

It's that way around here.  In Sacramento a redwood cracked the driveway and buckled the garage slab.
I replaced them as separate units with a gap between as that's how they were
Phydeaux said "Loving your enemy and doing good for those that hurt you does not preclude killing them if they make that necessary."

Phil Thien