Jointer Questions
I've been running the Lowes Special Delta 6" jointer for about 15 years now. It has done well, but I'd like to upgrade to an 8" jointer with an enclosed base. It seems that all larger jointer are six months or more out, so it will probably be a while. I've been keeping an eye on Craigslist as well.

I have a couple of questions.

1. How much of an advantage is parallelogram vs dovetail? I've read that it is easier to adjust the tables, but I've never had to do so on mine.

2. Is a helical cutterhead really worth the extra price? I upgraded to a helical head on my planer and really like it. But it seems that the advantages of it really aren't necessary for a jointer. I imagine it is easier than changing knives, but I don't have to do that very often with my current jointer. I know that many can be upgraded to them later, but I think buying one with it from the start would be cheaper than upgrading a brand new unit.
Project Website  Adding new stuff all of the time.
I can't speak about your first question but I can on the second. I had a 8" Delta jointer and upgraded to a helix cutter. It was night and day. First was how much quieter it was. The cut when facing stock was far better. I started using figured wood and had zero tear out when facing or edging stock. It was well worth the money. If I had to buy a new one I would get it hands down.
"First was how much quieter it was. The cut when facing stock was far better. I started using figured wood and had zero tear out when facing or edging stock."

My planer is a lot quieter with it, but that's not a huge factor for me (headphones and no close neighbors).

I did notice that curly wood fared much better in the planer after the upgrade. I used to hate curly maple and now I'm really starting to like it.