Riving Knife ?
I just bought a Grizzly G0899 saw (should be here tomorrow). I went to order a thin kerf riving knife from Grizzly & found out they don't make one for this saw ! That really surprised me I would think with a 2hp motor and a lot fans of thin kerf blades out there me included they would make one.
Anyway I'm a retired carpenter & 30 years ago actually made a meager living doing custom furniture & wood work for a few years until kids & family pushed me into a "real" job. 98% of all my table saw time has been done on saws without a riving knife. Used to own a Delta uni-saw
I know RK's are there for safety & the RK is a big reason I bought the G0899 as opposed to an older used saw without the knife. So here's my questions, Anybody using the G0899 and know if any riving knives from a different model will fit ? Or anybody with a 2hp saw using both thin kerf and regular blades can you tell the difference ? I will be able to test this out once I get the saw up & running. Other options obviously is ditch my TK blades (about 200-300 bucks) & buy new blades or ditch the riving knife & I don't like either one of those.
Reason for asking is I've been using an old Craftsman 1 hp saw & it cut much better with a thin kerf blades.
Thanks
My understanding is that saws with riving knives are specifically designed for them as they are made to both tilt and move up and down with the blade. Saws not designed for this are hard, if not impossible, to retro fit. However, a splitter will accomplish a lot of what a riving knife does while being somewhat less convenient and effective. These can be retro fit to most any saw. My Delta has a mounting point for one below the table surface and it projects through the ZCI. You can also make or buy ones that mount to the ZCI.

Sorry. I don't understand your question regarding the relationship of riving knives and thin/thick kerf blades. I have no issues using either with my splitter.