safe "dirt" removal
I recently brought home a nice desk that has some age on it. It also has some residual human/organic dirt on the front edge I'm guessing where the owner leaned and laid his arms? 

What is the safest method to remove and preserve as much of the finish as possible? Thanks!

Attached Files Image(s)

Eric Bruns
Licensed Psychologist
Aspiring amateur woodworker
My guess is this is shellac.  I have seen this occur on front edges of desk. can diagnose & fix by rubbing out with alcohol (solvent for sheLlac).  If it softens & moves it is shellac, you can smooth it out until it blends & be done, or fully remove & re-shellac.  I have done the first. If it doesn't soften, it is some other finish & you might need mechanical removal prior to refinish.  await input from real experts.
Ray
I'm not an expert either. However, I think you can safely use some mineral spirits on that edge first to see if it will remove the dirt. What ever finish is underneath won't be harmed and you may not need to do anything further.
Sweat and oils often soften the finish and make an easy repair impossible.  But maybe you'll get lucky and find that it's just dirt.  I would start with mineral spirtis, as Willyou suggested, and see how much comes off.  It won't harm shellac or most any other finish.  If that doesn't take off all the dirt, then try a little dish soap in warm water.  Between the two of them you should be able to remove all the oil and water-soluble dirt and oils.  What it looks like after it's cleaned will determine how best to proceed.  

John