Veneering question - splits/cracks
I have little experience with veneer. What I've done has either been thick enough that I treated it like any other glue up or small enough that simple clamping works well (or the FoodSaver could fit it).

As part of Grandpa Flynn's stash, he had plenty of veneer. It's variable, but it's mostly figured and mostly longer sheets. It appears to be standard thickness - 1/32" or less. Most, but not all, is in very good shape. Some of it - unfortunately, one otherwise very pretty piece of figured bubinga - has a lot of cracks. Now I'm sure there's a point where veneer cannot be salvaged, but I have seen highly figured veneer at one of our local suppliers (Colonial Hardwoods) that had a lot of cracks and splits and I assumed certain woods or figures were prone to it. Obviously, they must still be useful. So what do you do?

A little bit of browsing shows that veneer tape is used for seams. I assume that a similar approach would work for splits and cracks as they are still seams (assuming they can still be aligned normally). One video I saw held one side together with painter's tape and then the other done with veneering tape. I don't really know how else you would do it, but I wanted to make sure it would be the proper approach.
(12-07-2021, 07:50 PM)FS7 Wrote: I have little experience with veneer. What I've done has either been thick enough that I treated it like any other glue up or small enough that simple clamping works well (or the FoodSaver could fit it).