speed control failed on my PC 7518
After a couple of weeks of intermittently working and not working, my variable speed control on my 7518 router seems to be kaput and the router won't power on. (I did make sure it wasn't the switch).
It appears that a replacement part is no longer available so I'm thinking a plug in variable speed controller might be the way to go.  I have no experience with these. Are they a dependable option, and can anyone recommend a brand/model for my needs? Is there something else I should be considering? I use this only mounted in a table.
It's just too much router to throw away, and running it full tilt all the time doesn't seem a practical solution. Thank you!
My PC 7518 router did the same thing a few years ago. I blew air from the compressor through the router and it started working again. No problem since. Mine would power up and run up to the set speed. Must of been some dust in the reostate (sp).
Treat others as you want to be treated.

“You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.” — Mae West.
24- year cancer survivor
(12-16-2021, 05:36 PM)lift mechanic Wrote: My PC 7518 router did the same thing a few years ago. I blew air from the compressor through the router and it started working again. No problem since. Mine would power up and run up to the set speed. Must of been some dust in the reostate (sp).

Yup, that fixed mine for a couple of weeks! Unfortunately, then the magic wore off.
Ed,
Did you pull the end cap off? I just had mine out of the table so took the opportunity to pull the end cap even though it was working properly. There were all kinds of chips and craposis jammed in every nook and cranny. I used a shop vac to vacuum out as much of the debris as possible, then blew out the rest with the compressor.

Gary
I've only had one...in dog beers.

"You can see the stars and still not see the light"
The Eagles: Already Gone
(12-17-2021, 08:26 AM)shoottmx Wrote: Ed,