Working with a #7 HP
About 10 years ago I built the workbench in SN#84 and I never took the time to level the top (approx. 27 X 92). So I've started to try to level the thing with a #7 but I'm having trouble getting a ribbon, I get small shavings. Dido with a #4.

I'm not an expert with hand planes, I only use them when I have to. 

2 questions:

1. Are they not set properly?

2. When using the #7, do I make 1 long run along the entire length of the top?

Thanks for help

Jim
Jim
Jim,  What I normally do is plane at an angle - so for example, start at the front right side, and plane at a 45 degree ( more or less ) towards the left rear.  I usually use a straight edge to see where the high spots are , mark them in chalk with a circle, then use a 6 ( I normally use the 7 for jointing ) to plane off the high spots, again by planing at an angle.  Often I will reverse and plane in the opposite direction, or change from a 45 degree angle,  to directly across the grain, or anything in between. 

Not sure what you mean by ribbon.  If you mean continuous shaving - no, you won't get that until the area you are planing is flat.  Once you get that, move a little to one side or the other. 

Another technique is to make chalk or pencil lines across the entire top, then start planing on the diagonal.  Once all the marks are done in one area, it is flat, so long as you can see a chalk or pencil line, that is a low point.  Again, you want to keep checking with a straight edge  ( it doesn't have to be high precision ) and hold it in different orientations so you can find the high spots.   

If the plane is not cutting at all, then there is something wrong, either the iron is not sharp, the cap iron is not tight to the blade which can cause shavings to stick under the blade, or there is something else wrong.