How to Re-Finish a Table Top
    Hi all,

I’m hoping to get some advice on how to re-finish my table. I’m by no means an expert on finishing. I purchased this table at an Amish store 5 years ago. It’s made of soft maple. They must have used a water-based poly on it as every time water or even a slight amount of heat gets to it the area becomes white and hazy for hours. It’s also scratched and dull as I hope you can see it in my pic.

My go to finish is General Arm-R-Seal. I need to know how to remove the finish without damaging the wood stain since I do not have any to re-finish it. Is this possible? I just need to do the top.

I have several books on finishing, but none cover this.

Thanks

Mike
Not going to happen Mike.  The only two ways I know how to remove finish is to chemically strip it or sand, scrape, or plane it off.  Any of the mechanical options is going to cut into the stain.  If all the stars aligned, you might get lucky and find a stripper that only removes the topcoat and not the stain underneath.   I've never been that lucky.  So it's probably time to ask yourself if you would rather have it look like it now does, figure out how to reproduce the color if removing the finish cuts into the stain, or plan for some alternative finish/color.  

Another possible option is to wait until any white spots have disappeared again, then carefully scuff sand the top with 400 or 600 grit by hand, and then apply a new waterborne finish, one that is more durable than what's on there.  Of course, there may be compatibility issues so you should test any potential new finish on the bottom of the top to make sure it works.  

John