Mikiway MBS-300
Hey everyone.  
First post here & thanks in advance for any insight.

Quick background - It's been a very long time since I have done any real wood working or construction.  I was a machinist for a bit, then got suckered into inspection and now I am a quality engineer.  For all intents and purposes I am an noob... but am going to youtube university
Big Grin.

Goals in woodworking - mostly furniture in the near & not so near future.  Cabinets as well.  I'll be cashing out my assets in about 5 years to build my last house myself.  I'll be working from a 2 car garage until then.  No 220v, however I have a cousin that is an electrician so not impossible to get relatively easily.

So the question - 

Guy about 150 miles away has a Mikiway MBS-300 for sale.  It is a very good deal based on sales price (well under $1000) vs retail price.  Plus it comes with a power feeder (that I am not too interested in).

The pictures are horrible and I'm waiting for a reply on my questions to him (sliding carriage, top condition, power/wiring).  I don't think he knows what he has to be honest.

This saw is probably too much for what I need right now, if not ever.  The price is too good to pass up though I think & for some reason I really like the idea of the sliding carriages the euro/nz/sa/aus side of the world uses.

I guess I am asking for general advice on getting a saw like this for my purposes.  Advice on what to look for/questions to ask.  Does anyone here have experience with or knowledge about the brand?

Again,
Thanks in advance.
Howdy and welcome aboard.  Not from the US I take it?  That saw is a fairly generic table saw made in Taiwan. Should be fine for quite a variety of woodworking.  I was able to google it and saw a few links with pictures, I think even Sears sold a version of it back in the 90's as one of their Craftsman industrial models as if Craftsman was ever used in industry.