Apply finish before assembly?
Hi folks, I am really new at this. I’ve tried to finish a lot of different little projects in the past but never really achieved a result that made me happy. I’m trying to get a little more serious and I’m going to start with a simple side table for the back porch using some plans from a YouTube guy. The table will be made out of 1x3 pine from Lowes. The top and shelf underneath will be made of slats that are 1/4” or 3/8” apart. I assume that I need to finish the slats before I attach them to the base, is that correct?

Since pine blotches easily should I just use tinted shellac to achieve a brownish gray or should I use a brown stain on the wood and use black tinted shellac to layer gray on top of it? Or should it be the other way around (color wise) or should I use stain for both colors, try to mix a stain of the color I want, or use tinted shellac layering two different colors or one shellac with both brown and gray? I’m not looking for a perfect answer but it seems like I have about eight different options and I’d rather choose from the best options and avoid the worst options.

Also, I’ve read here that the Sherwin Williams A100 tint base is a potentially viable clear top coat that will expand and contract with changes in humidity. Will (should) that hold up well to a strong central Texas sun and some rain? Is there a better option? We do see big shifts in humidity.

Thanks
(04-30-2022, 11:36 AM)PeteG45 Wrote: Hi folks, I am really new at this. I’ve tried to finish a lot of different little projects in the past but never really achieved a result that made me happy. I’m trying to get a little more serious and I’m going to start with a simple side table for the back porch using some plans from a YouTube guy. The table will be made out of 1x3 pine from Lowes. The top and shelf underneath will be made of slats that are 1/4” or 3/8” apart. I assume that I need to finish the slats before I attach them to the base, is that correct?