Sharpening system help
Trying to decide about a new sharpening system, and the choices out there are quite confusing, any thoughts would be more than welcome. What I am looking at are:

- WEN BG4270T (Tormak Clone)
- Work Shop 3000
- Rikon 80-805 Slow Speed bench grinder

Up until now I have been using an old B&D grinder, but it finally died after 40 years, combined with the glass plate sharpening method.

SWMBO bought me a mid-sized lathe for Christmas and I've been messing around with it on pine, so not hard on the lathe tools. Aside from replacing the old grinder I need something to sharpen the lathe tools. I'm not a professional, just a hobbyist, so I'm not looking to take out a mortgage for a Tormek (or better) system. Was down at my local Woodcraft and they tried to get me to buy a $320 Rikon grinder with a $150 attachment, way out of my league.
Mike

I work on the 50-50-90 rule: If there's a 50-50 choice, I'll pick the wrong one 90% of the time!
I have the Jet Wet Grinder (Tormek clone), a set of Arkansas stones, and the sandpaper/glass system.

I use the Jet for my lathe tools.  This tool does do well at removing material and reshaping edges when needed.  I also use it to grind hollow bevels on plane irons and chisels.  I may be able to fit a CBN wheel on it.

I use the Arkansas stones for secondary bevels on chisels and plane irons.

I haven't used the sandpaper/glass setup in a long time.
Ray
(formerly "WxMan")
(05-09-2022, 05:34 PM)R Clark Wrote: I have the Jet Wet Grinder (Tormek clone), a set of Arkansas stones, and the sandpaper/glass system.

I use the Jet for my lathe tools.  This tool does do well at removing material and reshaping edges when needed.  I also use it to grind hollow bevels on plane irons and chisels.  I may be able to fit a CBN wheel on it.

I use the Arkansas stones for secondary bevels on chisels and plane irons.

I haven't used the sandpaper/glass setup in a long time.
You talking the Jet that looks like a Tormek clone?
Mike