WTB: 1"-8 Chuck
I'm looking to get a chuck for my recently-acquired lathe.  The spindle thread is 1"-8.

I'm new to turning, and would like to try out some bowls.  My lathe is a new-to-me Craftsman 351-217150 with a 1"-8 spindle thread, 2MT spindle taper, and a 15" maximum bowl diameter (the head rotates).  If you've a chuck you're not using and would like to move on, please let me know.
(01-27-2023, 08:18 PM)grwold Wrote: I'm looking to get a chuck for my recently-acquired lathe.  The spindle thread is 1"-8.

I'm new to turning, and would like to try out some bowls.  My lathe is a new-to-me Craftsman 351-217150 with a 1"-8 spindle thread, 2MT spindle taper, and a 15" maximum bowl diameter (the head rotates).  If you've a chuck you're not using and would like to move on, please let me know.

Maybe something like this would work for you. No affiliation, blah-blah, just did a quick search on Ebay.

I am not a turner, in fact I don't have a wood lathe, only metal lathes. I think you could use this plate to put chunks on and turn them round as well as work on them. You could mount this outboard also to work on larger stuff possibly, many wood lathes are setup to do so, I don't know about the Craftsman (obviously discontinued).

https://www.ebay.com/itm/364120625056

Here's another one:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/314303633963

Posting this because I think it's a ripoff. $300 for Chinesium, this is a chatchka that is a solution to a problem that doesn't exist.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/175345806460

I don't know what you want to do with your spindle, they make 2MT chucks also, but mostly for drills on metal lathes. You might want to make chisel/tool handles, stuff like that in addition to bowls. When I was in high school I used to turn a lot of bowls, it's addicting because you can carve them out fairly quick. Wish I had that Yates-American lathe I used to turn on...maybe when I have more space...
Rolleyes
Alan