Table Saw Alignment Plate
I see that Woodpeckers has a new table saw surface ground steel alignment plate along with a stainless steel 90-degree triangle for table saw alignment costing $200.00. I know that other companies have similar plates for about half the cost. I was wondering whether a 10 inch diameter plate glass disc with a 5/8 diameter arbor hole would an inexpensive alternative. Also, would a 10-inch 3/8 thick diameter aluminum plate that is face turned on a lathe so that both surfaces are parallel on both sides accomplish aligning a table saw? Any answers or experience would be appreciated.
I have a Master Gage Master plate (a rectangular machined aluminum plate) for setting the saw. I've had this one for years, but I know it would cost less than the Woodpecker's stuff. That said, I don't really think it's a huge improvement over using a saw blade that you know runs true. Before spending the money try that ans see what the results are (measured by actual use). About the glass plate, I suspect that would work just as well, though it would obviously be more fragile.
I started with absolutely nothing. Now, thanks to years of hard work, careful planning, and perseverance, I find I still have most of it left.
I doubt any of you guys remember Woody. He shared a plan for a homemade alignment plate. Dead accurate and made in your shop. Ol Woody was very practical and one h@ll of a craftsman. He was a firm believer in DIY and got very high results. He would have quite the diatribe for those dropping funds like that. Learned a lot from that old man and picked up WW tips too.
Roger

Life isn't like a box of chocolates. It's more like a jar of Jalapenos. What you do today, might burn your rear tomorrow.

9-11 Never forget