New Workbench Slab Top
As everyone noted the glue up would be really tricky. I tried something similar when I built my bench. I had 1*12 finger jointed pine, and tried gluing some of those (I think three) on top of each other for the two planks (I had a tool well down the middle of the bench). It didn't work out well. Granted, I was a beginner, had no workbench to build it on, and no easy way to make cauls. Using cauls would help. As would the screw idea. And definitely agree with using epoxy.

Update:

Sent an e-mail inquiry to Mr. Adam Horne at Perfect Plank Company and received a quick reply yesterday. They do have some leftover Maple that is 2 7/8" thick and long enough for my needs to make up a bench top. The carriers they use for transportation give them a significant break if the slabs are 93" long or less, so his quote was for a slab 92"L x 25"W x 2 7/8" thick.

Top = $556
Shipping $300

Total $856

Quite a bit more that I had hoped. Mr. Horne could not have been more pleasant to deal with (also spoke with him on the phone) and his quote was prompt and concise. We're on a vacation trip right now and I'll check on maple lumber prices at my local supplier when we get back home.

Doug
Building a workbench is a lot of work!!!  But, for me, it was amazingly rewarding.  I had only sawhorses for work surface, no real plan, just a burning desire.  I've never been a tight-wad, but for $856, you can build a nice bench with the best vices, have money in your pocket, and best of all, have an amazing experience.
I have mixed emotions about the slabs: on one hand I would save them; on the other, rip'em and save the cash.
"I tried being reasonable..........I didn't like it." Clint Eastwood
(02-07-2023, 08:04 AM)Tapper Wrote: Update: