Waterstone maintenance question
I have a set of Shapton Pro waterstones that I have been using for several years. They were great up until recently, but they just don't seem to cut as well as they used to. I have lapped them but they still don't seem to function like I think they should. I seem to recall someone talking about "deglazing" them to bring them back, but I can't find anything on that. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get them working as well as they should? TIA!!
Currently a smarta$$ but hoping to one day graduate to wisea$$
Dave,  if you lapped them on something coarse, that should have deglazed them.
Thanks!! I have been using an Atoma 400 plate. I think I'll try the 140 grit and see if that corrects it.
Currently a smarta$$ but hoping to one day graduate to wisea$$
Have you seen using something other than water as a lubricant?
It's all wood.
Is it possible to post a pic of them? It's possible the binder to abrasive ratio has changed, but that would be rare. Have you changed how long you soak them prior to use or do you just spritz them and go? Nortons really need to be soaked prior to use. If you've been using soapy water during sharpening, this could also reduce the effectiveness of the stone. Too much soap equals too much lubrication and it'll affect how the tool contacts the abrasive. It's OK to clean them using soapy water, but the general rule if using dish detergent to aid in clearing out swarf is one drop to your water.
Still Learning,

Allan Hill
I use Norton’s and use fine drywall screen on mine. IDK if this would be an idea for your Shapton’s or not?