Glue creep question
(08-03-2024, 03:38 PM)jteneyck Wrote: I, too, used to use Weldwood PRG.  Great stuff and too bad they stopped making it.  I switched to Unibond 800.  Great stuff, too, as is epoxy; can't go wrong with any of them.  That said, I have been using TB II for more than 2 years now with zero issues on both veneer work and to make my own plywood.  The dining table I recently showed was made with TB II.  IMO, TB Original and TB II have more than adequate creep strength for any flat work and for curved work, too, if the laminations are thin enough to be easily bent.  

I would not use TB III for any of this, but many do without issue.  

I also should mention that polyurethane glue, like Gorilla Glue or TB's polyurethane, are terrific for veneer and lamination work.  Excellent properties, on par with the urea glues and epoxy.  

John

Wholeheartedly concur with Unibond 800 and epoxy.  Both GREAT glues!

I was recently making a 5' square table.  I have NO idea why they wanted it 5' x 5' but they did!
I was going to glue up 1/2 at a time and was worried about the open time for TB so I was going to switch to West Systems Epoxy.
I was questioning if I needed to wet (epoxy applied) both sides so I called Rockler.
The epoxy expert wasn't there but the lady that answered said she had never heard of using epoxy as a glue!!  What??
Went to the West site and verified that both sides should be wet.
(08-04-2024, 04:42 PM)iublue Wrote: Wholeheartedly concur with Unibond 800 and epoxy.  Both GREAT glues!

I was recently making a 5' square table.  I have NO idea why they wanted it 5' x 5' but they did!
I was going to glue up 1/2 at a time and was worried about the open time for TB so I was going to switch to West Systems Epoxy.
I was questioning if I needed to wet (epoxy applied) both sides so I called Rockler.
The epoxy expert wasn't there but the lady that answered said she had never heard of using epoxy as a glue!!  What??