Beall Polishing System
Hello everyone,

I'm thinking of buying the Beall Polishing wheels/mops. I've never used a polishing system before and therefore, I am a newbie regarding this topic.

I've seen several video's, of folks using the system. However, I've never seen anyone use it on shellac finishes. Is there a problem with using polishing wheels, on shellac?

Right now, my favorite finish to use, is the shellac/BLO mixture. Since it's cheap, quick and easy.

Joe
(01-19-2018, 03:54 AM)MidwestMan Wrote: Hello everyone,

I'm thinking of buying the Beall Polishing wheels/mops. I've never used a polishing system before and therefore, I am a newbie regarding this topic.

I've seen several video's, of folks using the system. However, I've never seen anyone use it on shellac finishes. Is there a problem with using polishing wheels, on shellac?

Right now, my favorite finish to use, is the shellac/BLO mixture. Since it's cheap, quick and easy.

Joe

Yup. Shellac is more inclined to gum up with heat produced by pressing than other well-cured finishes.  Why it is used in "friction polishes," I suppose.  The "system" must be used with low-pressure caution, even on cured varnished pieces, because it can cut through, or even throw the piece back at you if you're not careful.  
Dust mask mandatory, I might add.

Too easy to use a mock French polish technique on shellac to produce a great surface to even risk it.
Better to follow the leader than the pack. Less to step in.
(01-19-2018, 07:02 AM)MichaelMouse Wrote: Yup. Shellac is more inclined to gum up with heat produced by pressing than other well-cured finishes.  Why it is used in "friction polishes," I suppose.  The "system" must be used with low-pressure caution, even on cured varnished pieces, because it can cut through, or even throw the piece back at you if you're not careful.  
Dust mask mandatory, I might add.

Too easy to use a mock French polish technique on shellac to produce a great surface to even risk it.