welders in the house?
I cut a few miters for a neighbor.  No charge.  Happy to do it.  

few weeks later, he delivered his father's Forney brand welder.  

I have a broken Kreg clamp that I would like to repair.  Welding store recommended Hobart 7018 as all around rod for an AC buzz box.  

I have limited welding experience, but some.  I cannot get this welder & rod combination to run a bead.  Practicing with an angle iron, the rod will just stick to the iron.  When it strikes an arc the rod will not run with the arc, either the arc goes out, or the rod sticks.  Is my hand really that bad?  

Rod is 3/32, Hobart web site says it runs best at 90amp which is where I am at.  However, with this welder, I am not certain the scale is accurate. 

All suggestions welcome,  except  'get a Lincoln 200 pipeliner', or 'get a Miller . . . .  '  or a Hobart.  I have to work with what I have, if it will work.

thx,
tom
IIRC 7018 is a "Powder filled rod" and you need 6011 or 6013 to make your root passes. Have you got a clean surface?

Crank it up a step at a time until it get hot enough you can weld.

I assume your rods are fresh?

But it's been years since I did any serious stick welding -- MIG is my preference.
"Truth is a highway leading to freedom"  --Kris Kristofferson

Wild Turkey
We may see the writing on the wall, but all we do is criticize the handwriting.
(joined 10/1999)
(02-20-2020, 08:01 PM)anwalt Wrote: Welding store recommended Hobart 7018 as all around rod for an AC buzz box.  

Are they 7018AC?  You’re not going to get very good results with 7018 without a DC unit unless it’s made for AC.  

And that’s low hydrogen structural welding rod (70 ksi minimum yield strength), used in building skyscrapers and bridges, for both stick welding and wire feed.  You’ll probably have an easier time with 6011 or 6013.  Don’t trust the current markings, either; in structural work, the welding machines have to be calibrated because they, well, aren’t necessarily accurate.